Gallery

Abstract

This morning was pretty fun. For quite some time now I’ve been wanting to take some macro shots of the oil and water combination and I’ve never taken the time to try it out…until this morning 🙂
Last night I was on Instagram as usual when I had a notification for a new follower. So I checked out the profile as you normally would and so glad I did because he had taken some shots of this combination in a way that MADE me want to try it out today. This is why I love social media and the internet. You just never know when you will get that next bit of inspiration.

Anyway, this morning I did a little more research and watched a few videos at the process behind and around this little project. This is a list of the things you need.

  1. Glass plate or bowl
  2. Two chairs
  3. Coloured paper
  4. Oil, water and washing up liquid
  5. Lamp

If you find the best spot in your house which has a great natural light source and position your two chairs both either side of each other leaving enough room to rest your plate or bowl, still seeing the floor below it. Then place your coloured paper on the floor underneath it with your lamp shining on the paper to give it a reflection.
Fill your bowl/plate with water, then squeeze a little washing up liquid in then a few drops of oil. You’ll see that the oil rests on the top whilst the washing up liquid sinks straight away. You are now ready to start photographing. If you find that the oil drops have started to rest on the side of your bowl, just gently give the water a slight stir.

Whilst I played around with this and tried a few other things….. here were my results.

I used my 100mm macro lens and my settings were as follows: ISO 100, f6.3, shutter speed between 1/25 and 1/30, I also used a on camera speedlight which was on 1/16.
As you can see, whatever you wish to use as the background, it will come through very nicely. I hope you enjoyed this little read and please do try it out and let me know what you thought. It’s a good way of really focusing with your macro.

Have fun and I’ll catch you next time!

8 thoughts on “Abstract

  1. Absolutely love these, its making really want to have a go myself and your explanation seems easy enough too. Its true about never knowing who or what might inspire you and I think you just have 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Honestly I think all in all it took about an hour. It’s so simple. There are a load of little 3 minute videos online just showing a setup. You can obviously choose what you want as a background and if you want to experiment with other things other than oil. You can use tablets, dissolvable energy tablets are a good one too. Just have fun and try out stuff. You won’t be disappointed. Hope you enjoy it 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

