Gallery

Trying to stay creative

Today’s post is all about finding ways in which to improve.
In my spare time I always try to find inspiration, whether its from blog posts, photography pages, tutorials or just the usual social media sites.

This morning I read a good article which also gave you a short video clip  – Creative ways to photograph Wedding rings. I thought some of these were very clever and the finished product looked stunning. As I’ve already had a go at photographing my wedding rings, I thought I’d try again after having watched this video baring in mind that I don’t own half the stuff this guy was using. I improvised and used what I had and gave it a go.

So my first image, I used two Photosel standing lights, a 4 in 1 reflector and used the silver cover. I had a white tabletop backdrop and a handheld portable led light to add in a bit of extra light. My camera settings were as follows – ISO 100, F3.2 and shutter speed of 1/200. I had a canon 540EZ speedlight and used my 100mm macro lens so I could really home in on the sapphire of my engagement ring. This was my finished product for this particular shot.
IMG_3637.jpg

My second image I used all the same lighting, backdrop and reflector. For my bokeh, I used two types of tinsel that I haven’t yet put away from Christmas ( shocking I know ) one blue and one purple to give some nice colour. I also used two silver tablespoons that I positioned quite close to my handheld led light to give off a nice reflection onto the rings. My camera settings were – ISO 100, f2.8, shutter speed 1/200 and the same macro lens.
This was the finished shot .
IMG_3602.jpg

As you can see from my photo’s to the ones in the video, I couldn’t quite get the two different sorts of lighting as he used a tungsten light to give that warm look and he had other lighting to which I haven’t yet got. I just wanted to show you that you can still produce quite a good shot even if you don’t always have the right equipment. Its also very good practice for when you do finely get the right lights or props etc.
This is good for me to do as I will be shooting my first wedding in March and I need all the practice and advice going 🙂

Well folks, I hope you enjoyed this little post and hope you’re all having a great Tuesday.
See you next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

